//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

Art Therapy Alliance Favicard on the Go with Janet McLeod in Auckland, New Zealand

It’s great there’s been a few Art Therapy Alliance Favicard on the Go photos submitted this week!  Earlier in the week I received a photo contribution from the Favicard that traveled the shortest distance so far through the mail for this project. This Favicard photo below received from Janet McLeod in Auckland, New Zealand I believe has traveled the farthest!  It is nice to see it arrived safely!

Favicardjanet

Here is what Janet included with her favicard photo submission:

“Last evening was a beautiful warm summers evening here in Auckland. After work my husband and I took our dog, my kayak and my Favicard to the beach.  We kayaked, played and had a picnic and it felt so good to be alive!   It is not always possible to play in the evening sun at the beach so sometimes I find my fun in other creative ways including photography, painting and art journaling.  

I am a newly qualified Art Therapist.  I came to Art Therapy through a personal journey that has been challenging yet rich and rewarding.  Every day as I work with clients who suffer from chronic pain I am amazing by the power of the process as it allows people to unlock years of trauma and start to heal.

I am very grateful to all those involved with the Art Therapy Alliance.  You are doing such a great job of providing us with an international community to share our experiences and learn from each other.  Art therapy is a young and very small profession here in New Zealand and it has been of huge value to me to be able to expand my network and connect with so many wonderful resourceful people worldwide!

This photo was taken using a Lensbaby, it has the Auckland iconic volcano, Rangitoto Island, in the background, and includes my kayak and Graeme playing with Winnie (our dog) and of course the Art Therapy Alliance Favicard.”

Thank you Janet!  Visit Janet’s website to check out more of her photography and also her blog.

About Gretchen Miller, MA, ATR-BC

Gretchen Miller, MA, ATR-BC, ACTP: Registered Board Certified Art Therapist, TLC Certified Trauma Practitioner, Art Therapy Community Organizer, Artist...

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Art Therapy Blog Index

LinkedIn

Pinterest

Twitter

Archives

